Posted by: taichateau | June 19, 2008

Rounders quote

Rembrant

– Rembrandt’s depiction of a Jewish Rabbi.

So here is my quote from the movie Rounders & more.  Someone once told me what I said in class and I think it is true. “Never underestimate your ability, true, but never forget that you will always effect the most profound change in the most seemingly insignificant of situations. A teacher is someone who leads and believes in others even when they have a choice to do something for themselves.” Not the best quote but I see the connections and maybe you will make your own meaning out of it.

From “Rounders:”

PETROVSKY: The last thing I took away from the yeshiva is this: We can’t run from who we are, our destiny chooses us.

MIKE: If you had it to do all over again, knowing what would happen, would you make the same choice?

PETROVSKY: What choice?

P.S./Side note:  For clarification, I do hold my name in high regard and the fact that it does mean, “servant of God” in Hebrew holds special significance to me.  I know it is sometimes hard to tell when I am joking, but I am not joking about this.  I am proud to be called Joshua.  (Josh is fine too though *wink, not a blink*)

Responses

  1. I wonder what the name Neville means. . . .

  2. Strangely enough, Neville means “servant of god” just like Joshua (Hebrew: Jeshua, Aramaiac: Jesus). Neville comes from old Gaelic for the servant of Thor: the god who separated humans from nature.

    Z

    PS
    None of what I just wrote is true. Except for the last sentence.


Leave a Reply

Categories

