Posted by: taichateau | July 1, 2008

Two Roads going… somewhere?

To roads diverge A positive quote first, dedicated to Blake:

If one listens to the faintest but constant suggestions of his genius, which are certainly true, he sees not to what extremes, or even insanity, it may lead him; and yet that way, as he grows more resolute and faithful, his road lies.  -Henry David Thoreau, “Walden”

I saw two roads placed before me, the MAT or a torn sleeping bag under a bridge.  I took the MAT route and… seriously, is it going to make a difference?  What if I just really care about learning something and I don’t care at all about P value or writing a temporary Literature review that really isn’t going to do jack for us right now, but once the class is over we can really put in what we want after much sifting and reasonable time to reflect and consider and put into this thing what I originally wanted to be a meaningful, purposeful thesis and Lit. review.  If we should care about Research, Leadership, and Technology equally then can we have a proportionate measure of concern for our Lit. review as well?  Right now this thing seems weighted and our Leadership & Research comprehension class…eh.. not so much.  Anyway… I’ll keep walking down this path, but if I start hallucinating and seeing a floating cat’s head then I’m just going to run screaming towards the end and hope for the best.  Ever seen   I just hope that I don’t end up getting distracted keep walking straight when the MAT path turns left and eventually run into that sleeping bag and bridge at the end, when I finally look up from my research.

After MAT?

Responses

  1. Hmmm….I’m not all that awesome at deciphering poetry, but I’m having a hard time getting a “positive” vibe off of that quote. Perhaps you can help me out.

  2. Alright…after reading the quote in its complete context, I feel better about it now. Thanks Josh.

  3. […] Josh dedicates a quote about roads or paths taken and not taken to Blake. At first I thought he meant this Blake, but later realized he meant this Blake.  Josh muses about the difference it might make concerning the paths taken or not taken.  Ah, a wonderful metaphor– Is it Frost’s, or Ts’ui Pen’s, or  Lao Tzu’s path we are talking about? […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

